Day 18 Tuesday 26th February

I went to visit the Notre Dame cathedral in Saigon today. I can’t believe I have lived my life without realising Notre Dame means ‘Our Lady’ in French referring to the Virgin Mary. Lacking culture I always think of the hunchback! The cathedral was built between 1863 and 1880 by the French colonialists.

SAMSUNG CSC
Notre Dame Cathedral

As impressive as it was the adjacent Post Office held my attention as a lovely building with its expansive open ceiling.

SAMSUNG CSC
Saigon Post Office
SAMSUNG CSC
Saigon Post Office interior

 

I walked back through a rare,pedestrians only, sun protected street to the Majestic Hotel. It is an old (1920) colonial style hotel with a small but shaded courtyard swimming pool and I spent the afternoon relaxing there.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC
Majestic Hotel

I had a really interesting meal tonight. The starter was crab spring rolls and the main course was frogs. There were various options so I asked the waiter for a recommendation. He told me if I liked crispy skin go for the frogs in oyster sauce. Not sure I was prepared for frogs hacked into quarters with the rib-cage showing on one side and charred mottled skin on the other but I have to say after I pushed that to the back of my mind I found it it delicious.

Leave a comment